Election commission bans exit poll

Devinder Singh Kohli | May 25, 2018 04:06 PM
Election commission bans exit poll


The Election Commission today banned exit polls between May 26 and May 28 in the poll bound states of India including the Assembly constituency -32 Shahkot bye-poll.

Citing provisions of section 126 A of the Representations of the Peoples’ Act , 1951, a spokesman of the , EC said, "Exit polls cannot be conducted and publicized by means of print and electronic media or dissemination in any other manner starting from May 26,2018 at 6:30 PM to May 28, 2018 at 6.30 PM."

Clarifying further, he said that display of any election matter including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey in any electronic media is prohibited during the period 48 hours, including the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in each of the phases in connection with the elections.

Have something to say? Post your comment